Club Sponsors

The Donalds Group

New Club Sponsors

The Donalds Group is one of East Anglia's longest-serving car dealerships with four branches located throughout the region, representing five franchises in the form of Mazda, Volvo and Kia.

'Donald's Garage' was formed on 18th August 1950 by Mr Noel J.C Donald on Peterborough's Lincoln Road East (now Burghley Road), initially as an Austin and Slinger distributor. Our Peterborough branch still works from this location and has seen Hyundai and Datsun models fill the showroom floor throughout the 60s and 70s before in December 1980 we were presented with our first Mazda franchisee which we still have today. Our connection to Mazda has grown in strength in recent years with additional franchises in the form of two premises previously owned by Garney's & Hill in Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds. In 2011 we took over the long-established Sycamore of Stamford, on West Street.

Although the brand of cars has changed over the years, our sound principles of delivering outstanding customer service have not. At The Donalds Group, we are committed to providing a thoroughly professional service in every aspect of our business by not only meeting but also exceeding the needs and expectations of our customers. Our dedication to these fundamentals has rewarded us by introducing an additional four franchises to our group.

In 2015 we re-launched our Corporate Identity with a new logo and website, a fresh design to celebrate a new era for The Donalds Group. This year was also marked with Donalds Volvo Ipswich winning 'Regional Dealer of the Year' by Volvo UK securing the prestigious award covering East Anglia and the South Midlands. Donalds Ipswich was also awarded with the recognition of 10 years of service with Mazda from 2005 - 2015.

In 2018, we started work on two new state-of-the-art showrooms for Volvo and Mazda respectively, at Futura Park in Ipswich. On completion in Summer of the same year, this location will become Donalds' flagship location. Find more about the build at

Ashe Converting Equipment

Proud 2019 Hambro winning shirt sponsors

Over 30 years’ engineering excellence and still going strong
ASHE Converting Equipment is a family owned company, established in 1976. We are now a global manufacturer and supplier of specialist state of the art slitting and rewinding machinery for the film, paper and allied web industries.
Visit web site

Howard Construction

Material providers to RGC.

Howard Construction (Anglia) Ltd specialise in the fast track installation of Housing Development Infrastructure for many national housing developers such as Taylor Wimpey, Bellway Homes, Bovis Homes, Hopkin Homes, Bloor Homes and many others.

We have been established for more than 25 years and have gained a solid reputation within the industry for carrying out work on time and to a high standard.

View Website

Suffolk FA Partnership

Rushmere Golf Club Partners

Visit web site  Suffolk FA Was Formed In 1885.

There were eleven founder member clubs - Ipswich Association (now Ipswich Town), Ipswich School, Ipswich Rangers, Cowell’s Club (Ipswich), Stowmarket, Bury Town, Bury School, Beccles College, Sudbury, Framlingham College and Woodbridge.

The first president of the Association was The Duke of Hamilton, whose presidency ran between 1885 and 1894.

There were 41 registered referees shown in the county handbook for the 1903-1904 season, the figure in today’s book is more than 400. In the same 1903-1904 handbook, there are 100 clubs shown that were affiliated to the Association; today’s figure is over 500.

In 1898 a county fixture was held against Aston Villa, who at the time was the previous season’s FA Cup winners. The gate money for this game was £238 5s. 4d, compared with the Senior Cup Final of 1905 which realised a gate income of £48 12s. 6d.

The period 1907-1914 saw the years of 'the split' when there were two associations, one affiliated to the FA and the other to the AFA. In 1914 the FA and AFA effected a compromise which resulted in the Association being again a harmonious and united body.

On March 20th, 1935 Suffolk County Football Association held its Jubilee celebration. Amongst the guests was Stanley Rouse, later to become Sir Stanley. It was reported in the programme for this celebration that over the previous fifty years the progress on interest in the game had been ‘wonderful’ and that there was hardly a village which did not possess a football club and that practically each town had its own charity competition.

Again interrupted by war during 1939-1945, the county FA started the era after World War II with JW Yallop continuing as honorary secretary, a post he had held since 1919 and would continue to hold until 1960.

In addition to JW Yallop, the county only had four other honorary secretaries since the Second World War, Ernie Brown, Barry Collings, Bill Steward and Martin Head. Ernie Brown was made a life member of the Association in 1980 and its president in 1986.

A Centenary Banquet was held at Ipswich Moat House on September 30th, 1985 to celebrate the Association's 100th birthday. Sir Stanley Rous, CBE, honorary president of FIFA and honorary vice-president of the Football Association, proposed the toast to the SCFA.

The Suffolk County Football Association became a Limited Company in 2000.

For the first time in its history in April 2001 the County FA appointed two full-time employees, namely Will Cook, county development officer and James Payne, clerical officer, and both were installed at the new county FA office at Felaw Maltings in Ipswich.

In April 2003, the Association moved its headquarters to purpose-built offices in Stowmarket, which were officially opened by FA vice-chairman Ray Kiddell. In July 2003, Martin Head became the first salaried secretary in the Association's history.

Suffolk defeated Hampshire 2-1 at Portman Road, Ipswich in 2005 to win the FA County Youth Cup in the county's first-ever cup final appearance.

Suffolk again reached the FA County Youth Cup Final in April 2007, drawing 1-1 with West Riding after extra time at Valley Parade, Bradford. However, West Riding won the match 4-3 on penalties.

However, a third final appearance came the following season, with Suffolk defeating favourites Cambridgeshire 2-1, again at Portman Road, in April 2008.

In 2006, all disciplinary administration transferred from volunteers to staff at the Association's HQ.

When Martin Head, who had been appointed as the Association's first chief executive, retired he was replaced by Phil Knight in November 2010.

Phil Knight left his post in August 2012 and Laura Smith was subsequently appointed as the county's first female CEO in December 2012.

In 2012 the County FA's Transformation Programme was implemented which has streamlined the Board of Directors, removed the previous committee structure and will elect a Council more representative of Suffolk football.

Suffolk again reached the final of the FA County Youth Cup in April 2014, losing 3-2 to Lancashire FA after extra time.

Laura Smith resigned as CEO in March 2017 and Richard Neal succeeded her in September of the same year.
Loading the Calendar...
  • 2020-07-15
  • 2020-07-16
  • 2020-07-17
  • 2020-07-18
  • 2020-07-19
Need to know more weather details? Click here to see the weather for the next 5 days.
  • Rushmere win Marks Cup!
  • Rushmere member honour
Course Status
Currently open
18.06.2020 10:47
View Status
Golf course open, tee times must be booked via ClubV1 app for members or for visitors.